Beginning in Bangkok

Now Playing: “There Will Be Time” -Mumford & Sons ft. Baaba Maal

I made it to Bangkok! After anticipating this moment, I am excited to have my feet on the ground! The flights were smooth and rather enjoyable. I am among a minority of people that enjoy long flights. For me, it’s time to disconnect, unwind, and reset for the next adventure. Granted, I’ve only ever been on long flights before an exciting adventure, so maybe that’s why I like it so much. A few glasses of wine, a movie or two, listening to a custom playlist, watching some stand-up comedy specials, and dozing in and out of sleep. Works for me!

The hardest part of the 30 hours between leaving my steps in Astoria, NY, a layover in Taipai, Taiwan, and arriving at my hostel in Bangkok, Thailand was getting a cab from the airport! Suvarnabhumi Airport (BKK) has good ticketing system to keep an organized taxi line, but there was no assistance in communicating our destination, like I’ve seen at other airports. Eventually one driver said he understood us and we – I traveled with Michelle from Delaware and met Sophia from London at BKK – piled into the decked out van with drapes and other strange decor. We put our faith in the universe and sure enough, we arrived at HI Sukhumvit after about 30 minutes.

  • HI Sukhumvit proved to be a lovely hostel! I definitely recommend this place for a low-cost, no-frills place to crash in a great area of the city. It is located on Soi 38 right off the Thong Lo BTS station, which has plenty of places to eat, shop, and go out! A private queen room is $23, a two-twin bedroom is $29, and a single bed in the dorm is $10. Light breakfast and wifi are complimentary, there is a kitchen, lovely roofdeck area, and a laundry machine (at your expense). Most importantly, the staff is friendly, helpful, and you feel safe with a keycard entryway and 24/hr front desk.

We checked in and dropped our bags, aiming to get food and explore the immediate neighborhood before letting ourselves sleep. I left my apartment at 10:00pm the day prior, and it was now 3:00pm THA, though my body felt like it was 4:00am EST!

img_3059.jpg

Everything within walking distance was closed for Songkran, the Thai New Year, so my first meal here was actually Japanese BBQ! It was the only establishment open – besides Subway and 7/11 (thanks ‘Merica) – after walking for over 30mins, so we went in and cooked our own salmon, mangos, corn, and noodles. Needless to say, we stayed in that night, met a few others from our group, and passed out hard!

For the rest of the weekend, we saw the main sights and experienced the city celebrating Songkran, which lasts 3 days. Traditionally, Thais celebrate the new year by pouring water on Buddha statues, as well as on the hands of their elders, to wash away one’s sins. The younger generation practices in a water festival, running through the streets with water guns and buckets. I experienced the calm and chaotic rituals, and it was amazing to see this city in such an energetic celebration. Sadly, the water fights did get out of hand in some areas, but I was safe! I didn’t get any photos from the water fights because my phone was tucked away, but here are two from a friend:

The following day, Sophia and I visited the main tourist attractions of downtown Bangkok. It was very hot but truly incredible! Our cab driver dropped us at a river tour instead of the Grand Palace, which is sometimes typical. Cab drivers try to push you to local businesses, and in this case, he won out. We decided to take the boat tour and joined two young men from Australia on a 90 minute boat tour along the Chao Phraya River. We did not regret that decision (or the 2000 baht/$60 they charged us)! It was a beautiful day to be on a boat, see many temples, shrines, houses, and markets along the way. My favorite stop was Wat Arun, a gorgeous 220 ft temple from 1656 BE. Also known as the Temple of Dawn, Wat Arun stands out from other temples because of the tiny, colored, porcelain specks that make up the exterior design. It sparkles in the sunlight! Truly phenomenal.

  • Worth noting Wat Arun requires traditional dress, covering shoulders and knees. The cost to dock the boat is 30 baht and the cost to enter the temple area is 100 baht. There are shawls and skirts available for rent, I think about 30 baht.

We docked and parted ways a bit abruptly from our new Aussie friends. The driver took off before we could exchange info! So Sandor and Adam, if you’re out there, thanks for a great day! Sadly most of the photos from Wat Arun were taken on Sandor’s phone… But the memories will last nonetheless!

After a much-needed lunch break – pad thai in air conditioning… I cannot find it on Google! – we were off to Wat Pho. Wat Pho was absolutely amazing and the best 100 baht to spend. This is the site of the famous Reclining Buddha, but there was so much else to see and do within the gates. I am not sure if this was due to Songkran or the mourning period, but there were stations to bless the buddhas, to get blessed by a monk (he hit me very hard with the wet palm and then laughed!), to write a blessing, and many many stands selling food, gifts, jewelry, spices, etc. We also witnessed a traditional dance performance by a group of young Thai girls! Very cool!


The Thai King, Rama IX died in October 2016. Thousands of Thai people sit around The Grand Palace at all times of day to honor him. They sit under tents in their long black clothes for hours in the heat; the line was long both last night and this afternoon. There are giant paintings, posters, billboards, and signs on almost every business commemorating him as well. Their loyalty is beautiful and inspiring, and certainly something refreshing to witness. I was unable to go inside The Grand Palace, since only Thai people can enter in the afternoon for mourning ceremonies, but here is a glimpse of the entryway:

It was an exciting couple of days in the capital of Thailand. We had a lot of street food, took taxis, did some errands at the mall, and those things felt just like any other city. I am happy to say I did not experience jet lag or “Bangkok belly” – making me feel like a bionic woman!

We did get a bit “Western” and book an AirBNB for Easter Sunday. I took advantage of a beautiful rooftop pool, air conditioned gym, as well as strong wifi, a bathtub, and a laundry machine. It was a nice change of scenery and I was able to FaceTime my family at their Easter celebration! ❤

IMG_3212

I can’t wait to learn more and see things I never imagined! Hoping to soak this all in before I start teaching next month 🙂

One thought on “Beginning in Bangkok

Leave a comment